Nairobi County set to adopt boroughs system to deliver services

Nairobi County is set to create six boroughs in a bid to decentralize public services. Initially, Governor Sakaja’s administration sought to have five boroughs, however, a Technical Committee Taskforce on the establishment of Boroughs recommended having an additional one. The team conducted public participation in November 2023 to get the views of residents.
“Following intense and successful public participation, it was resolved that the number of boroughs be increased from the original five to six,” a cabinet dispatch dated January 7, 2024 reads.
The boroughs include Central, Eastern, Western, Northern, Southern and South Eastern. Each of the Boroughs will have one plan, one budget and will be managed by a Borough manager. The committee also proposed the construction of headquarters in each borough.
All the 17 sub-counties have been aligned to the six boroughs.
The Northern Borough will consist of Kasarani, Roysambu and Ruaraka sub-counties.
The committee has proposed its headquarters to be located at Gatharaini grounds ( LRNO.57/1536/2) in Kasarani LRNO.57/1536/2.
Starehe, Kamukunji, and Mathare sub-counties will make up the Central borough.
The task force recommended the headquarters be located at Kamukunji sub-county.
Western Borough which will include Westlands, Dagoretti North and Dagoretti South sub-counties will have its headquarters either at Waruku or Kawangware.
For the Southern Borough, the proposal is to have Kibra and Lang’ata sub-counties in it.
The proposed headquarters will be at Joseph Kang’ethe Social Hall LR NO.209/5806 in Kibra.
The Eastern Borough will have the bulk of Eastlands including Embakasi Central, Embakasi West and Embakasi North Sub counties.
Its headquarters will be at DCC’s compound LR NO.157/3 in Embakasi Central.
South Eastern
The South Eastern borough will include Embakasi South, Embakasi East, and Makadara sub-counties.
The recommended Headquarters will be in Makadara where land will be sourced from the Low-Cost Housing project.
The proposal will be re-submitted to the County Executive Member for Boroughs for adoption and approval.
The Urban Areas and Cities Act, of 2011 allows county governments to partition their areas and appoint city or municipal managers to be in charge of specific areas.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *