The Urban Areas and Cities (Amendment) Act 2017 which was assented to by the President on 12th March 2019 paves way for creation of more cities in Kenya by lowering the population threshold required for an urban area to be declared a city.

Under the new law, the number of the resident population required for a city has been reduced by half from 500,000 to 250,000 people. This means that besides Nairobi, Mombasa and Kisumu, Nakuru and Eldoret will be eligible to be declared cities given their population. The same law also allows a county to declare an urban area a municipality if it has a resident population of at least 50,000 residents, while for an area to be declared a town it has to have at least a population of 10,000 residents and a market centre would only require 2,000 residents.  A day after the President signed the law, Nakuru Governor Lee Kinyanjui also signed the Municipal Charter that will enable Nakuru attain its city status. The Municipal Charter document will be presented to the Nakuru County Assembly where it will be debated on before it is taken to the Senate for further approval. The Act proposes a raft of other amendments intended to streamline management of urban areas and cities in Kenya and enhance service delivery.