KARA has partnered with Kenya Association of Manufacturers (KAM) to support development of Policies and Bills on solid waste management for 11 Counties.

The targeted Counties are: Mombasa, Nakuru, Kisumu, UasinGishu, Nyeri, Kisii, Meru, Kitui, Kajiado, Machakos and Kiambu. This is pursuant to Part II of the Fourth Schedule of the Constitution which made solid waste management a devolved function. The objective of the initiative is to enable the targeted Counties have streamlined and well-coordinated solid waste management sector. To facilitate development of the County Polices and Bills, a technical committee with representatives from Council of Governors (COG), Office of the Attorney General, National Environment Management Authority (NEMA), Kenya Law Reforms Commission (KLRC) and Civil Society Urban Development Platform (CSUDP), was established and initiated the process of preparing model Policy and Bill to be discussed with the various Counties and eventually customized to their specific needs.

KARA organized a National Solid Waste Management Stakeholders Workshop to facilitate review of the draft model Policy and Bill developed by the technical committee led by a consultant. The workshop brought together representatives from the targeted County Governments, Civil Society Organizations, Academia, Resident Associations and Community Based Organizations from various Counties. Speakers at the workshop emphasized the need for Counties to have strong Policies and Laws to facilitate effective management of solid waste at the County level. It was agreed that the draft model Policy and Bill should be aligned to the expectations of various stakeholders in the targeted Counties and should also be harmonized with other existing legislations on environmental management. The workshop was addressed by various speakers from KARA, KAM, COG and NEMA.
A sector-working group has been put in place to spearhead engagement with the County Governments and key stakeholders in order to customize the model Bill and Policy to the needs of respective Counties.