After successfully engaging Nairobi County Government in the development of Solid Waste Management Act and regulations for the County,

Kara has rolled out a project aimed at working with 11 Counties to develop Solid Waste Management Act and Policies for the respective Counties. Having an appropriate and strong regulatory framework in counties is the first step towards sustainable solid waste management and Kara is set to work with various stakeholders to support development of the necessary policies and legislations. The targeted counties are: Nakuru, Kisumu, Uasin Gishu , Kisii, Meru, Mombasa, Kitui, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nyeri.

The process will entail status assessment on development and adoption of solid waste management policies and laws by participating counties; Meetings with the leadership of the participating counties to brief them and discuss mechanisms for working together in developing the polices and Bills; Holding county stakeholders workshops in the participating counties to get input and develop county specific solid waste management policies and Bills.