Nakuru and Eldoret towns are set to become cities if a bill approved by cabinet is passed.

The Urban Areas and Cities Amendment Bill got the cabinet’s nod on 28th September 2017, paving the way for the creation of two new cities in Kenya. Nakuru and Eldoret towns are considered the third and fourth largest urban centers in the country, respectively after Nairobi, Mombasa and Kisumu. If the Bill becomes law, it will allow for two more cities, 66towns and 80 market centers in the country.

The Bill is aimed at amending the Urban Areas and Cities Act, 2011 in order to harmonize and cater for the classification of urban centers in the country in a more realistic and viable manner than is provided for in the current law. The Urban Areas and Cities Act 2011 states that for an urban area to be classified as a city, it must have a population of at least 250,000 residents based on the last population census data. It must also have an integrated urban area or city development plan and should demonstrate capacity to generate sufficient revenue to sustain its operation. The draft law will be submitted to parliament for scrutiny and further approval.