Kara signed the Urban Boards Non State Nominating Agencies (UBNSNA) cooperation agreement during a breakfast meeting convened to provide updates on the progress made by UBNSNA.

The agreement provides a collaboration framework for members of UBNSNA in order to ensure effective and professional engagement. UBNSNA was established pursuant to the provisions of the Urban Areas and Cities Act (UACA) 2011 which requires establishment of urban boards to facilitate management of cities and municipalities at the Counties. According to Section 13 of the Act, the boards should consist of eleven members five of whom are to be nominated by non state agencies prescribed in the Act.

UBNSNA was established to ensure legitimate and effective representation of non state agencies in the boards. Members of UBNSNA include Kara, Civil Society Urban Development Platform (CSUDP), Association of Professional Society in East Africa (APSEA), Kenya Institute of Planners (KIP), Architectural Association of Kenya (AAK), Law Society of Kenya (LSK), Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya (ICPAK), Kenya National Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KNCCI), Kenya Private Sector Association (KEPSA) and the Institution of Surveyors of Kenya. UBNSNA converges the interest of professional bodies and civil society in an effort to promote sustainable urban development. UBNSNA has laid out an elaborate work plan that will see its members actively advocating for establishment of urban boards in various counties and ensure effective representation in the boards and ad hoc committees.