The Ministry of land and physical planning has launched a National Spatial Plan (NSP) that will guide the use and management of land and to effectively avert further land encroachment in the country.

The 2015-2045 plan structure is contained in the National Spatial Plan (NSP) for the years 2015-2045.

The plan will guide the use and management of land to facilitate the attainment of national land policy principles. The National Spatial Plan also sets guidelines for the identification and mapping of economic development potentials, provision of transport and trunk infrastructure, and sustainable exploitation of the natural environment. The spatial structure also takes into consideration other geographical landmarks and resources which include national parks, marine parks, conservation areas, forests and water bodies.

According to the plan, Nairobi, Mombasa, Kisumu and Lamu have been identified as National Growth Areas, with Isiolo and Lodwar marked as Future Growth Areas. The plan also identifies other urban areas as Regional Growth Areas which are expected to spur the country’s development in future. They include Nakuru, Eldoret, Nyeri, Embu, Kisii, Kakamega and Kitale.

County governments will therefore be required to use the National Spatial Plan 2015-2045 and the Draft National Land Use Policy to develop the sectors of tourism, industries, infrastructure and environment in their areas. The government through the lands ministry would help prepare national, regional and local area land use plans for county governments to ensure the planning processes are integrated and participatory.